The Scrutinizers

A peer-learning and research group

The Scrutinizers is a peer-learning and research group that started in October, 2013. The group emerged in an unstructured way. Individuals who met at doctoral seminars, and others who participated in the membership-controlled Consumer Culture Theory (CCT ) Facebook group, initiated a formal study group to learn about the CCT field, discuss current and classic CCT research papers, and expand knowledge of theory and methods in order to publish in high-quality marketing journals. Using digital communication tools and a rotating leadership schedule, the group regularly and systematically analyzes CCT research that has been published in prominent journals. Analysis typically concludes with a virtual meeting with papers’ authors, who are invited to share their experiences conducting and publishing the research.

The group has a formal but somewhat fluid membership, but does not have a formalized approach to membership application and approval. Group composition has remained the same since December, 2015. The members are geographically dispersed across five continents and work in institutional contexts that are distinguished by differing degrees of research intensity, resource access, acceptance of different paradigmatic traditions, and proximity to other CCT scholars. In addition, members have different mobility trajectories and have been socialized, during graduate school, in institutional environments that vary with regard to their orientation vis-à-vis the field. 

To access our research, see Our Research 

For workshops and other resources see Workshops and Resources 

To learn about our work on mitigating academic isolation, see Academic Isolation

Group members

Meriam Belkhir

University of Sfax, Tunisia

Myriam Brouard 

University of Ottawa, Canada

Katja H. Brunk 

Europa-Universität Viadrina, Germany 

Mario Campana

University of Bath School of Management,  United Kingdom 

Marlon Dalmoro

Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul (UFRGS), Brazil  and Nova IMS, Portugal

Marcia Christina Ferreira 

The University of Essex, United Kingdom 

Bernardo Figueiredo

 RMIT University, Australia

Aimee Dinnin Huff

Oregon State University, United States 

Daiane Scaraboto

The University of Melbourne, Australia

Olivier Sibai 

Birkbeck University of London,  United Kingdom

Andrew N. Smith

Suffolk University, United States